The Carnot Cycle

sq_carnotThe Carnot Cycle consists of four steps:

  1. Isothermal Expansion
  2. Adiabatic or Isentropic Expansion
  3. Isothermal Compression
  4. Adiabatic or Isentropic Compression

The cycle is ordinarily plotted on two axes in two different ways: Pressure and Volume, in which case the cycle is a curvy quadrilateral and descending to the right, or Temperature and Entropy, in which case the cycle is a nice rectangle that emphasizes the isothermal and adiabatic (isentropic) aspects of the steps.


Images of the Carnot Cycle from Google search.

Tip of the hat to:

Stuart Kauffman / Investigations

Also please see the previous posts:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.